FischFail: On Writing

Posted: August 1, 2010 by fischfail in Random, Writing
Tags: ,

I have a fairly methodological approach to writing on a blog post. First I write an actual paper, a conversational essay if you will. I keep all these “posts” on a clipboard and type them when there are ready. It is this initial stage that I do a lot of the editing. At this point, my clipboard is fill with stuff waiting to be posted.

But, there is a actually a step before that (at least when it come to gaming posts; normal posts are typically more free form). When discussing games, I first select a topic (GoTD, for instance).  Then I write a brief outline of how the post is going to progress.

After the outline is done, I create the first draft, which is really nothing more than notes scribbled all over the outline.  This first draft somehow goes through brain magic and becomes the nonsense you read.  I know, its amazing.

When I started working on FischFail, INC. I had no clue what I was going to write about.  It wasn’t until I had it for about a week that I decided; “let’s have fun with this.”  However, I did not want this to be a blog just about gaming.  There are plenty of those that are really good.  At the same time I didn’t want this blog to be purely serious.  There are also plenty of those.

That was when I decided to make the blog of randomly mixed content tat so many of you read.  And it really is an enjoyable experience.  I just hope many of you get the same pleasure from reading it that I get creating it.  Its a great outlet.

I do find it amusing thought that I use the word “blog” so often.  Especially since anyone that has know me for more than a year has heard me rant about hating the word.  I guess I have ErinLovesTheWeb to thank for that…

The thing that frustrates me most about blogging though, is not all th stupid jargon, but really a personal issue.  For those of you who do not know me, I am quite the funny person.  ErinLovesTheWeb, Bear, Stephanovitch, Dan, Eldwardo, and countless others have literally laughed themselves breathless at my stories and rants.  And yet, I cannot seem to translate this comedic personality into my writing.  I mean, I’ve had numerous people tell me they would pay to see me perform comedy, But I cannot write it, and seeing how its all about life events, I couldn’t write it anyways.  But I digress.

So, at this point in time, you have probably guessed that I do a lot of reading.  I do, and I love it.  However, I am getting hard pressed to find authors I genuinely enjoy anymore.  Even the authors I used to enjoy do not bring me much pleasure anymore.  ow, I don’t know if this is because my tastes have changed dramatically over the years of because those authors’ style has changed, but it makes me sad.

What I do know is this: I love reading and I love writing.  And hopefully this continues. I know I will continue to do both and I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

On a completely unrelated side note. I hate the advertisements for “Lady Jane’s”…  Almost as much as I hate the spokespersons voice…  It makes me want to pound nails into my head to ease the pain…

Leave a Reply

