What the fuck am I going on about now?

Posted: December 23, 2010 by fischfail in Uncategorized

First of all, just a friendly reminder to everyone; It’ almost Christmas time, and I just wish everyone a happy and safe Christmas and New Years.  I know I had promised a few fun photo sets for everyone, but due to poor planning, a severe lack of time, and lack of budget, they were not able to be done…  This year.  Next year, however, is a different story.  And who knows, they may actually get posted at some point this year, wouldn’t that be more fun?  But either way, onto the real post.

Many of you know that I used to blog, when I was much younger, back before it was known as “blogging”.  And if there was anything I learned from that experience, it is this:  People love three things when it comes to blogs; 1) web comics, 2) something informative, and 3) anger. Myself included.  There is just something that is diverting to read about something that just pisses someone off. And for the most part, I try to keep too much anger and “blah” out of my posts.

Now, Fisch Fail, INC. definitely does not fall into the web comics category, and personally I would like to think of it as falling into the informative category.  You know, we write shit, you learn more about us.  For the most part, this blog is centered around our real-world lives, with other bits thrown in for amusement.  Yes, the topics we post DO have a tendency to be geeky in nature, but there is a lot more there if you just read through the mess.

Now, in case you haven’t figured it out, we love gaming, of all sorts, we don’t believe in segregation.  But there is nothing more awesome to us than table-top gaming.  There is something that is almost magical about hanging out with your best friends and stepping out of reality for awhile.  And that is really one of the goals of Fisch Fail, INC.  To let you, our amazing readers and subscribers take a chance to step out of their own shoes and into ours, if even just for a few minutes.  I hope we do not fail in that aspect.

And now, the normal shit that spews forth from my fingers when I work…

So, last night I gave ErinLovesTheWeb her Christmas gift.  And it is rather funny how I came about getting this particular item.  So, for the past few months, I’ve been saddened by the fact that I am incredibly poor, and wouldn’t be able to get her a Christmas gift, or at least the one I wanted (which I will explain in a minute).  So ErinLovesTheWeb, Luz, Eldwardo, and myself are all hanging out last night, and an idea strikes me.  So I run to my parents house (figuratively, I don’t run anywhere), and bum some money.  But then I had another brilliant idea.  ErinLovesTheWeb has recently gotten back into yarn crafting, and I had considered getting her some yarn and new crochet needles.  Luz, Eldwardo, and myself decided against that idea inside of Luz’s office.  So Luzand myself hopped in my car and drove to the nearest Barnes & Nobles. It was there that I had found the game I had been considering for so long.  I picked “Settlers of Catan” up and began discussing it with Luz.  When suddenly, I looked to my right and there was another gameErinLovesTheWeb and myself love, “Dominion.”  Now, I am at a rift…  Choice (A) or (B), they are both similar in price, they are both equally fun.  I choose option (B).  So Luz and myself decide to walk around a bit, I’m clutching this game like my damn life depended on it, I refuse to set it down, even for a second.  Finally we check out and head back to Luz’s place.  I walk in, and ErinLovesTheWeb’s face lights up.  It’s a bag, from Barnes & Noble.  This has to be something awesome.  She peers inside, her eyes go big, and she leaps out of her chair.  She runs over to me, and gives me such a tight hug that I actually start to get light-headed.

After the hug and a brief story about my trip, she tears into the plastic seal, freeing the game from its cellophane based prison, and sets it up.  ErinLovesTheWeb and myself have played before, however, it was a nice experience being able to strip Luz and Eldwardo of their Dominion virginities.  We play two games, a game to learn the mechanics, and then an all out Battle Royale.  We had a blast.  I still plan on getting her both “Settlers of Catan” and its expansion(s), the expansion(s) for Dominion, and the yarn and crochet needles.  Those things will just take some time.

Now, I would like to take this time to say ErinLovesTheWeb is super excited about Christmas, like bat-shit happy for it to finally be here, and in all honesty, I am too.  For the first Christmas in a long time, I am genuinely excited about it.

“Visions of sugarplums would be the most boring dream ever. Unless they were sword fighting or choking people or something.” ~ ParasiteHilton.

Isn’t that the fucking truth man?

Comments
  1. luzob says:

    …and I got my ass handed to me on that game all night ><.

Leave a Reply

