You can’t touch this!

Posted: June 25, 2011 by fischfail in Uncategorized

So, I want to start this post off with a quick anecdote. So, for those of you who personally know me, you know I’ve lost a ton of weight in the past year and a half. In fact, I’ve lost enough weight that a pair of pants that used to fit me well now makes me look like this…


Except the only differences are: I am still a fat white guy with piercings, and instead of being shiny and brightly colored, my pants are instead flat black in color, and you all know that makes me even more fucking awesome.

So anyways, for those of you who attended the Fisch Fail, INC live event last night, I want to personally thank you. Now, I know Drezirale swears by tinychat, but we all experienced numerous problems that could only be mitigated by changing services. Problems that included severe lag, pop-ups, bot intrusion, and just general displeasure…

In fact, I spent most of my personal time, looking for a new platform, instead of participating. I think I found a possible solution. In fact, ErinLovesTheWeb and I have been testing this platform for a large portion of the day. Unfortunately though, it does not offer some of the benefits that tinychat actually made use of. However, this platform is much faster, much cleaner, and just as easy to use.

As soon as Luz makes his appearance online for the day I will get his feedback. For now though, you can all help me out by heading over to http://anologue.com/Fisch-Fail-INC-3597 (this link will only work for the day, which is a downside), and let me know what you all think.

Comments
  1. They really look like hammer pants! You should see him when the wind picks up. 🙂

    On the plus side, now it’s really easy to pants him.

  2. drezirale says:

    Tinychat offers the off chance someone people would wander into our chat. You see, every now and then they do what is called a “featured chat” where they pick a chat at random and put it on the homepage for a like a couple of hours to give noobs an idea of where to get started and offers the chance for the chat to receive some traffic. Also, if we get enough traffic we get put on the front page for the “popular chats section”. It’s all on how you advertise and present the chat. More traffic means more FF views. Just sayin’,…

    • That may be true for some people. But we had absolutely terrible results with it. The list above is only the beginning of problems that we encountered in just an hour. At one point, it took over a minute for a message I had typed to actually be seen. I found that to be unacceptable.

      • drezirale says:

        What are the options? Chat clients that hardly anyone knows of, there are the messenger based chats like yahoo, aim, and MSN. If we do try those I recommend yahoo, only due to the fact we can make a group. however none of those can be page embedded. Finally, the only thing left is random encounter chats such as dickroulette and Omegle. The fact is shit like tokbox and to anologue don’t have a homepage where you can wander into random chats. I think rounds does but it’s facebook based. Blog TV and Stickam have adds so it’s all on what you feel like dealing with. The more popular something is the more bullshit you have to weed. Look at youtube fore instance. The fact is TinyChat offers the highest amount of notoriety with the least amount of bullshit. Trust me, It could be alot worse.

        • Yes, I understand things like analogue don’t have home pages where random people can find random chats and join them. But believe me when I say, I enjoy tinychat, however, it just wasn’t the correct venue for ffi to have their live events. It was mostly the speed and ads that were issues. At one point, I had to watch an annoying ass ad for some product I don’t give a shit about. If not for those two issues, I would be much more accepting of tc for ffi live.

          • I hate to say it Drez, but I agree with Fisch. I did not enjoy my experience with tinychat. I think it would be great to use for video or white board stuff, and I still think that it can be used for other things, but I don’t think it’s right for the Friday night chat.

            Personally I think that setting up a group on Yahoo would be a good thing to do, and it might be worth doing the chat there because you can browse yahoo groups as well.

            I guess what I’m saying is that perhaps we should just shop around for a bit.

Leave a Reply

