Adventures from the land of Fischfail…

Posted: August 3, 2011 by fischfail in Anger, Cars, Life, Money
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
Traffic slowing to a crawl on the Monash Freew...

Image via Wikipedia

So I was on my way to school today and I get about half way there, when rush hour traffic hits and there is wall-to-wall traffic occurring. I realize that the vehicle I am in needs gas, so I decide I will get off at the next exit (65), stop at a gas station, grab a bite to eat and a pack of cigarettes.

As I approach the ramp for the exit, I realize it is not going to happen. This exit is even more packed than the expressway and there is no way I’m getting on it. No big deal. I can easily make it to the next ramp, exit there, put some gas in the tank, and continue on my merry way.

Suddenly, the inside of the vehicle feels incredibly hot. I look down and realize the temperature gauge is elevated, we’ll call it 75% elevated (as opposed to the vehicle running normally around 50%). It’s okay, that is to be expected, it is quite warm outside, and there is wall-to-wall traffic. My air intake is sucking up the exhaust of all the cars in front of me.

I make it to exit 67b at 10 miles per hour, the temperature gauge is even higher, let’s say 90% percent now. I excel slightly, I hit 20 MpH, and suddenly the car makes a dinging noise. I look down and see a “Check Gauges” light has appeared. I check the temperature gauge once again. Only this time it is around 100%. critical fucking mass. So, slowly, I make it to the nearest parking lot. By the time I park, the console is lit up like the fucking command center of the Enterprise.

I exit the vehicle and I smell hot engine/rubber. I hear something, a bubbling noise, it sounds like a tea kettle…. It’s my engine. I can hear it over the hustle and bustle of rush hour traffic. I look down, there is a giant glowing green, smoking puddle forming under the front end of the car…

I call the car owner and explain what is going on, they say they will be there ASAP. I wonder around for a few minutes and decide to have another cigarette, and call LuzOb and talk for a few moments. Mind you it has now been about 15 minutes since I parked. I hold the phone to the front of the intake, and see if Luz can hear the sound as well.

He can, clear as fucking day…

So, the wait began. finally an hour and half later, the owner shows up, with gallons of water, hoping that is was just a case of being low on fluid. The engine is still warm, but at this point it is no longer hot. I watch him pour the water directly in the top  of the radiator. I watch the vehicle pour it right back out the bottom of system…

The strange part is this: We could fill the radiator, we could fill the reservoir. The would both remain full, and yet we could see this water pooling underneath the vehicle. Needless to say, it has to be towed… How awesome of a day…

So much for that special gift I had planned for all of you.

Comments
  1. MoonPie says:

    Sucks for you

Leave a Reply

