AYCOoB: Something bad has happened… Part 1.

Posted: September 19, 2011 by fischfail in Gaming, Nerd
Tags: , ,
Welcome, don’t forget to share this blog with your friends and subscribe for the latest in entertainment. And if you use StumbleUpon, go ahead and give us a thumbs up, would ya? Thanks!
Transparentised version of Image:Gluehlampe 01...

Image via Wikipedia

So, its been a few weeks since I last saw Kara. She told me she had a hunch, an idea, a gut-feeling if you will, and she wanted to check it out. I, of course, happily offered my assistance. She simply smiled at me and replied with “Nope, your mission here is too important to abandon… If you need to leave, make a message using our system of secure communication. I will find you when I am done.” and then she was leaving.

I didn’t try to stop her, that’s not my role in life. It is…was Gizmo’s job.

I hope she’s okay… I think I am starting to love her, if that’s even possible out here.

She left at night, which was a little strange, but I trusted her, and I believe that we will be reunited. At least, I hope we will.

That night, I packed my current project away, secured the building after she left, enabled the motion detector (probably the best creation Gizmo ever made, I don’t know how many times that simple fucking device saved us), and went to sleep. But before I go any further, let me describe the motion detector.

It’s a simple device really, and we have several that still work. It is a little battery powered box, about 4 inches by 4 inches, and roughly an inch thick.  There are two little wire connectors in the back. According to the package, the internal batteries are supposed to last a year, at least. We average about two weeks. Gizmo had discovered that when two wires are connected to the back of this device, it provides some power to the item at the other end, say a light bulb or detonator. Pretty cool stuff.

Before Gizmo was murdered, he made us two different models, one that connected to a primitive detonator and the other to an alarm or light. My personal favorite method is the light bulb.

In the morning, I unpacked everything. Generally the projects we work on are meant for us, to help us survive. This particular project was meant for someone else: The Topledo…

I was working for about an hour when the light sitting next to me began to shine. Something or someone was in the safe house, I began stuffing everything back in its home. I pulled on my helmet: a thermal scan showed something strange, a signature that was both cool and hot. Then something terrible happened, he looked directly at me. At least it seems like he was looking at me. The thing was actually staring at the ceiling two stories below. The motion detector seemed to die out, and my helmet started glitching: it had to have. The thing below just disappeared. I pulled the fucking helmet off. I stood motionless behind some metal crates, my rifle raised, focused on that door. I was ready for whomever was coming through that fucker.

Whatever it was in the building made it to the third floor landing faster than anyone should have been able to. I could hear a slight “whirring” noise from just outside the door. Whatever was out there had working electronics, and I wanted them.

The next thing I knew, the room was filling with smoke and I felt dizzy. I remember falling to the ground and getting tired. I have no idea how long I was out.

When I came to, the first thing I noticed was that my mask had been pulled off, and I was tied up. No matter how hard I tried, there was no escaping my bonds. I heard that whirring noise again, it was close. I was able to turn my head just enough to see what I assumed to be an Archor. Sure I had heard of them, but I always thought they were myths. And here was one going through my equipment.

But I was still alive, it was still here, and from what I could tell so was all my stuff.

Almost immediately, it spun around and looked at me. This big hulking half-machine, half-man monster. It wore a cloak thankfully, and the hood was pulled far enough forward that I couldn’t make out any details. After a moment, it spoke.

“Hello, Mr. ‘Seven,’ my name is CDQ544386, however you may call me…….” there was a long pause, “John. I am of the VDR Shelter, although that doesn’t matter. Sorry about knocking you out, but it was the only way to assure your personal safety. I believe you know somebody named ‘Kara’?”

It didn’t wait for a response. “Of course you do, no sense in answering trivial questions. Either way, I know where she is, she sent me to retrieve you. Something bad has happened to her… If you would like, I could take you to her.”

“Is she still alive?”

“Yes, she is, in fact, she is better than ever. I take it, you want to go meet her?” He walked over to me, and helped me up. Within seconds I was untied. “I noticed you were working on improvised explosive devices. However the fuel source was of poor mixture.. I fixed that for you, it now has more of…. a kick. I also modified your gun, it now has an infrared thermal scope and infrared laser. The laser is set to be accurate to 1/10th of a millimeter. I hope that makes up for the sleeping gas. Now if you will gather the rest of your things, we will be on our way… Also, make sure you’re wearing your helmet. It works just as it did before, it never malfunctioned, I was jamming the signal…” He reached inside his bag, and pulled out a cloak, and handed it me. “Put this on as well.”

After a few moments, I was geared up.

Leave a Reply

