The Renn Fest: Bitter-sweet Endings…

Posted: October 3, 2011 by Grimnir in Alcohol, Life, Nerd
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Welcome, don’t forget to share this blog with your friends and subscribe for the latest in entertainment. And if you use StumbleUpon, go ahead and give us a thumbs up, would ya? Thanks!

It always seems like there are at least a few people you meet along this journey called life that are what most people would call

Strange

You know, those kids whose parents never told them that they couldn’t wear a cape to school. Well I’m writing this article about the Michigan renaissance festival to tell the world that wearing a cape to school is perfectly okay. Seriously, anyone who has the time to sit there and make their life’s work telling someone else how stupid they look obviously cares way to much about the opinions of others. I know, the title says Renn Fest, but you will see that this preface is perfectly relevant.

My Fiance and I at the Michigan Renaissance Festival

There really aren’t too many things that I enjoy more than putting on my armor, lacing up my boots, strapping a sword on my belt, and slinging my drinking horn over my shoulder to march off to the Michigan Renaissance Festival. I mean come on, what’s not to like about dressing up and acting like a viking (or whichever period character you prefer)?

Normally, my fiance and I hit the MRF at least twice each year, but this year I found myself extremely busy with Ring of Steel (a combat theater group I work with), and so I put it off until the very last day. Funny enough, I don’t remember ever going on the last day before this, and it really brought something to my attention: It all ends too soon. Every weekend, there is a theme, but I don’t think that the theme “sweet endings” properly captures the mood I was in; More like “bitter-sweet endings”. I found myself wishing that the festival was year round, and I came to the realization that there really aren’t enough occasions in the year to don my armor. So what I’m trying to say to all you faithful Fisch Fail readers is don your armor. Dress up for the hell of it, wear a cape to school, but most importantly

Ignore the haters

Because at the end of the day, people forget all too often that your opinion of yourself is the one that matters most.

May the gods watch over you

Måtte Æser ser deg

Ullersson
Comments
  1. luzob says:

    You just may see me in a cape Tuesday… not really I’m too broke for all that.

  2. MoonPie says:

    I love the ren-fest!

Leave a Reply

