Ceci N’est Pas Une Pipe

Posted: May 21, 2012 by luzob in Random
Tags: , , , , , ,

Say it with me now…

When my pipe burns bright and clear, the gods I need not envy here.

This is part of a German folk song, and this is not a pipe post…

Oh wait it is…

 

So it’s been awhile since I’ve even mentioned the recreational use of the majestic tobacco-smoking apparatus, but it’s about time I give this timeless instrument of perfection.

In the very beginnings of my briar-clad journey I had no idea whatsoever of the nuances involved with the art of pipe smoking, nor the knowledge of what to initially purchase. My first steps to pipe ownership abruptly fell into my lap; but more accurately was found atop an old refrigerator

The combing through of possessions from a newly-deceased family member (rest in peace) was how I acquired my first pipe. It was old to the point of being more pipe-like-object than anything else. I knew it was perched up there even when I was young enough to think a fridge was a form of  extreme “no go zone” meant only for the most thrill-seeking of children. I wondered if it was some turn of the century relic long forgotten by both time and a dedicated smoker. Maybe a pilfered war prize from WWII, meant to be found once again and cherished?

Nope… Mr. Fail himself found a VERY similar pipe at a gas station for like, three dollars… Oh well… I still would come to enjoy it for a decent handful of smokes, but would eventually have to figure of if this pastime would be for me.

                                                                                                                   ^there it is! also an awesome hat!^

The answer would come to me in the form of a friend who happens to own a smoke shop, and I got myself a Churchwarden pipe.

Another pipe, and another hat! Damn that is an epic beard…

But soon I would realize that merely two pipes would not satisfy me, and after traversing hours of websites I would come to know my very first actual briar pipe.

I found this pipe from (gasp, a promotion!) smokingpipes.com:

aaaaaannnnddd guess what pipe I bought?!

and yet another hat!

Yet it was but another step, and I required something… exotic?

Ever heard of Meerschaum? Yeah, I didn’t either… until I looked into it…                                    I love the case far too much to not show it, and I ran out of hats… Thank Grimnir for this’un!

 

…and that is the end of my collection so far.

You maybe thinking “Daaaaaaaaaiiiiimmmmnnnn Luz, you must get paid like a MOTHERfucker!” but I actually have spent less than $100 for all of my pipes and accessories combined. How much do you spend on that there Xbarx or Funstation? If you ever thought about being a little classier or just look somewhat more badass… a pipe may be right for you.

Leave a Reply

