I Want to Be The One Who Fights for Justice

Posted: June 5, 2015 by luzob in Random

Today is a weird day…

Hello faithful readers, I hope all is well.

So strangely enough my strange day began pretty normal; got up, got coffee, jumped onto Twitch, and started watching random Youtube nonsense.

Now I’ve heard the combination of Brentalfloss/The Mega’s Megaman-based hit “Gotta Run/Be The One” but for some strange reason it really sunk in today.

I may or may not have written about this in the past, but here’s a refresher… if not for you at least for me.

When I was growing up I was in my own fantasy land, mostly created from the video games my mother played. Final Fantasy, Zelda, Secret of Mana, Earthbound. etc. so I grew up with one major virtue which stayed with me for years: there were things in this world which we need to save our loved ones from, and these “evils” could come from anywhere. Besides imparting a minor shade of paranoia into my grade school brain, it gave me a duty – to make sure that evil would stay away from those whom I cared about.

In time this naive notion eroded away like most childhood dreams. When my little brother came to elementary school I would see him get into it with fellow schoolkids, and I would come rushing to his aid. A year later he wouldn’t want my help anymore, and my small mind couldn’t see that it was just him growing up. I thought I just couldn’t help him anymore.

Eventually the harsh reality set in that I really couldn’t save the world anymore, and yet subconsciously my life has grown around the need to still help. I graduated with my Bachelor’s in Social Work, but helping others is a lot more complicated than I thought it would be. So slowly I became lazy and uncaring, and it’s affected me.

Even as I write this I’m slowly becoming discouraged, and wondering even why i started this post…

Ever at age 29 can I think I can save the world?

I blame Brentalfloss and reading Harry Potter lately…

Leave a Reply

